top of page

MHA Advisory Board

Alan Shatzel, DO, MBA


Mercy Medical Group


Carlos Garcia, MBA

Chief Administrative Officer

UC Davis Health Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Christopher Wang, MBA

Chief Administrative Officer,

UC Davis Center for Precision Medicine and Data Sciences

David Mitchell, PharmD, MBA

Pharmacist Sr. Manager,

UC Davis Health

Helen Huang, Ph.D.,

AIMBE Fellow,


Jackson Family Distinguished Professor,

Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering,

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill & North Carolina State University,


Director of the Closed-Loop Engineering for Advanced Rehabilitation (CLEAR) Core

Jim Mills, MBA

IS Director, Enterprise Client Services

Sutter Health

Jita Buno, MBA, FACHE

Associate COO / Chief Supply Chain Officer

UC Davis Health

John Fowler, Ph.D.,

Motorola Professor of Supply Chain Management,

W.P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University.


INFORMS Fellow, IISE Fellow

Founding Editor-in-chief for IISE Transactions on Healthcare Systems Engineering.

Maurice Herbelin, MD, MBA

Chief Medical Officer

Central California Alliance for Health

Minh Nguyen, MBA, CISSP

Chief Information Security Officer,

Cedaron Medical

Robert Cathey, MBA

Chief Data Officer/Vice President, Global Data Analytics Solutions,

VSP Global

Stephen Hanh-Smith, PhD, MBA, M.Ed.

Director of Quality and Compliance,

Buckelew Programs Inc.

Steve Schorer, MD, MBA, FACEP

ER Physician,

The Permanente Medical Group, Inc.



Kestrel Insights

Teimour Nasirov, M.D., MBA

Clinical Assistant Professor, 

Pediatric Heart and Lung Transplant Program,  

Pediatric Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery,

Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford


Surgical Director Pediatric and Adult Congenital Cardiothoracic Surgery, Sutter Medical Center

Teresa Wu, Ph.D.,

Professor of Industrial Engineering, Fulton Schools of Engineering, Arizona State University,


Professor of Radiology Informatics, Mayo Clinic,


Co-Director, ASU-Mayo Center for Innovative Imaging,

IISE Fellow

Xueping Li, Ph.D.,

Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering,

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Co-Director, Health Innovation Technology and Simulation Lab.


President, IISE Modeling and Simulation Division.

bottom of page